Race of the Week 2017

Travers Tops New York's NTRA Moment of Year Candidates

Will Take Charge's thrilling victory in the Grade 1, $1 million Travers and the following day's ceremony in which retired jockey Ramon Dominguez received the 2013 Mike Venezia and 2012 Eclipse Awards were selected as two of the options in the annual "NTRA Moment of the Year" poll.


There are 12 options in the poll, with the results to be announced on January 18, 2014, during the Eclipse Awards ceremony.


In the Travers on August 24 at Saratoga Race Course, Will Take Charge nipped Moreno on the wire to prevail by a nose, giving Hall of Fame trainer D. Wayne Lukas his third win in the race. It was the first Travers victory for jockey Luis Saez.


Ramon Dominguez, the leading rider in New York by wins from 2009-2012, earned his third straight Eclipse Award for Outstanding Jockey in 2012 but was unable to receive the prize during the ceremony on January 19, 2013 after he was seriously injured in a spill the previous day at Aqueduct Racetrack. Dominguez, who announced his retirement in June, instead received the award on August 25 at Saratoga during a special ceremony between races. Following a video tribute highlighting Dominguez's illustrious career, the rider also was given the Mike Venezia Award, which was created in 1989 and is given to the jockey who most exemplifies extraordinary sportsmanship and citizenship.


Another "Moment of the Year" nominee is Ken and Sarah Ramsey's three wins in major Grade 1 turf stakes within the span of two hours on August 17. One of those wins came in Saratoga's Grade 1 Sword Dancer Invitational with Big Blue Kitten.


To vote in the poll, click here.    


Since the NTRA Moment of the Year award was inaugurated in 1999, events at NYRA tracks have received the honor four times: the touching scene between Charismatic and jockey Chris Antley following the 1999 Belmont Stakes, Tiznow's narrow win over Sakhee in the 2001 Breeders' Cup Classic, Birdstone denying Smarty Jones a sweep of the Triple Crown when he upset the 2004 Belmont Stakes, and Rags to Riches becoming the first filly to win the Belmont Stakes in 103 years when she took the 2007 edition of the race.




comments powered by Disqus

Older Comments about Travers Tops New York's NTRA Moment of Year Candidates...

I agree with FloridaF about MMM and Co. But for NYRA racing, the finish in the Met Mile was probably my favorite race. Along with Flat out's Westchester win. Both Times Cross Traffic was defeated by slim margins, but both Mile races had thrilling endings.
Spicer Cub the latter day Whirlaway and No Robbery.
The replay of Spicer Cub's race makes me laugh every time.
I voted for Spicer Cub (Pimlico race 11 on 4-13-13). The big names already get all the glory - I wanted to give a little to a gutsy (and maybe a little quirky) little gelding whose race made my jaw drop. I have watched the replay countless times and each time I am amazed!!! And may I add, he has run 11 times this year which is more than many of the "popular" ones run in a career now days.
My Moment of the Year vote goes to Mucho Macho Man winning the 2013 Breeders' Cup Classic for Kathy Ritvo, Gary Stevens, and the Reeves.
Had to vote for Paynters come back, Shugs Derby was great, and watching that horse loop the parked starting gate was awesome!

Related Pages

Related Stories

Top Stories