Three-time graded stakes winner Masochistic headlines Churchill Downs

Three-time graded stakes winner Masochistic headlines Churchill Downs
Photo: Benoit Photo/Del Mar

Los Pollos Hermanos Racing and Jay Em Ess Stable’s three-time graded stakes winner Masochistic headlines a field of 14 sprinters for the Churchill Downs.
The Churchill Downs will go as the 10th race with a 4:28 p.m. post time.
Trained by Ron Ellis, Masochistic started his 2017 campaign with a runner-up finish in the Triple Bend (GI) at Santa Anita on March 11. This will be the second trip to Churchill Downs for Masochistic, who broke his maiden in his second start by 14 lengths on Derby Day 2014.
Mike Smith has the mount and will break from post position two.
Gilman Racing, Westside and W.C. Racing Inc.’s Denman’s Call, winner of the Triple Bend, also ventures east for the Churchill Downs. Trained by Doug O’Neill, Denman’s Call will be ridden by Tyler Baze and break from post position 12.

The field for the Churchill Downs, with jockey and weight from the inside, is: Awesome Slew (Joel Rosario, 118 pounds), Masochistic (Smith, 118), Schivarelli (Flavien Prat, 118), Apprehender (Alex Birzer, 118), Clearly Now (Corey Lanerie, 118), Forevamo (Florent Geroux, 118), Solid Wager (Victor Espinoza, 118), El Kabeir (Javier Castellano, 118), Limousine Liberal (Jose Ortiz, 118), The Truth Or Else (Julien Leparoux, 118), Chief of Staff (Gary Stevens, 118), Denman’s Call (Baze, 123), Tom’s Ready (Brian Hernandez Jr., 118) and Bluegrass Singer (Luis Saez, 118).

Source: Churchill Downs

Top Stories

“She’s a filly, but I have entertained the thought...
Instant Coffee finished on top in the Grade 2 Kent...
Six older horses will match strides at Del Mar Sun...
Louisville, Ky. He got out of the gate about a hal...
Impressive 5 1/4-length allowance winner Running B...