Sixteen Keeneland sales graduates are Eclipse Award finalists

Sixteen Keeneland sales graduates are Eclipse Award finalists
Photo: Keeneland

Sixteen graduates of Keeneland sales, including Breeders’ Cup winners Arrogate, Beholder, Champagne Room, Classic Empire, Drefong, Finest City and New Money Honey, are among the finalists for 2016 Eclipse Awards announced today by the National Thoroughbred Racing Association, Daily Racing Form and National Turf Writers and Broadcasters.
Champions will be announced Saturday, Jan. 21, at the 46th Annual Eclipse Awards Dinner at Gulfstream Park.
Alumni of Keeneland sales who are Eclipse finalists and their 2016 stakes wins are:
Horse of the Year: Arrogate, winner of the Breeders’ Cup Classic (G1) and Travers (G1).
Two-Year-Old Male: Classic Empire, winner of the Sentient Jet Breeders’ Cup Juvenile (G1), Keeneland’s Claiborne Breeders’ Futurity (G1) and the Bashford Manner (G3); and Practical Joke, winner of the Hopeful (G1) and Champagne (G1).
Two-Year-Old Filly: Champagne Room, winner of the 14 Hands Winery Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Fillies (G1) and Sorrento (G2); Lady Aurelia, winner of the Darley Prix Morny (G1) and Queen Mary (G2) who won her career debut at Keeneland; and New Money Honey, winner of the Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Fillies Turf (G1) and Miss Grillo (G3).
Three-Year-Old Male: Arrogate; Exaggerator, winner of the Preakness (G1), Haskell Invitational (G1) and Santa Anita Derby (G1); and Nyquist, winner of the Kentucky Derby Presented by Yum! Brands (G1), Florida Derby (G1) and San Vicente (G2).
Older Dirt Male: Lord Nelson, winner of the Triple Bend (G1), Bing Crosby (G1) and Santa Anita Sprint Championship (G1).
Older Dirt Female: Beholder, winner of the 2016 Breeders’ Cup Distaff (G1), Vanity Mile (G1) and Adoration (G3); and Cavorting, winner of the Ogden Phipps (G1), Personal Ensign (G1) and Ruffian (G2).
Male Sprinter: Drefong, winner of the Breeders’ Cup Sprint (G1) and Ketel One King’s Bishop (G1); and Lord Nelson.
Female Sprinter: Finest City, winner of the Breeders’ Cup Filly and Mare Sprint (G1) and Great Lady M (G2); and Haveyougoneaway, winner of the Ballerina (G1), Honorable Miss (G2) and three non-graded stakes.

Female Turf Horse: Lady Eli, winner of the Flower Bowl (G1); and Miss Temple City, winner of Keeneland’s Maker’s 46 Mile (G1) and Shadwell Turf Mile (G1) and the Matriarch (G1).

Source: Keeneland Association

Top Stories

No Triple Crown is on the line in this year's $1.6...
Baltimore There is no doubting where D. Wayne Luka...
Whether it is a preview of pari-mutuel betting rem...
On Tuesday, Horse Racing Nation reported trainer B...
Many bettors will focus their attention on Saturda...