Road to Kentucky Derby 2023: Standings after 30 points preps

Road to Kentucky Derby 2023: Standings after 30 points preps
Photo: Jessica Morgan / Eclipse Sportswire

You knew it was coming. With the first Kentucky Derby 2023 preps that offer 100 points to the winner and 40 to second, the leaderboard has a much different look.

After the weekend's Grade 2 Louisiana Derby, Jeff Ruby Steaks (G3) and UAE Derby (G2), four names have joined the top 10 of the standings and 10 of the top 20 have changed.

Click here for HRN rankings of Kentucky Derby 2023 contenders.

Two Phil's is now in the No. 1 slot with 123 points after winning the Jeff Ruby. Louisiana Derby winner Kingsbarns and UAE Derby winner Derma Sotogake are at Nos. 2 and 3 for their wins at Fair Grounds and Meydan. Derma Sotogake is the second millionaire on the board after Saturday's win, and his owner said his next stop will be Churchill Downs on May 6.

Forte dropped to fourth place, but he would regain the lead with a win or a runner-up effort in the Florida Derby (G2) on Saturday. 

With 30 points preps in the books, seven races remain on the road to the Kentucky Derby. Sunday brings the Sunland Park Derby (G3), which offers 50 points to the winner, if eligible. Saturday's Arkansas Derby (G1) and Florida Derby (G1) each award 100 points to the winner.

The Wood Memorial (G2), Blue Grass (G1) and Santa Anita Derby (G1) on April 8 all have 100 points for the winner, and the last race in the series is the Lexington (G3), where the winner would earn 20 points.

Rank  HorsePoints  TrainerEarnings *
  1Two Phil's123Larry Rivelli   $643,850
  2Derma Sotogake100Hidetaka Otonashi $1,112,319
  3Kingsbarns100Todd Pletcher   $600,000
  4Forte  90Todd Pletcher$1,783,730
  5Practical Move  60Tim Yakteen   $372,000
  6Confidence Game  57Keith Desormeaux   $610,480
  7Angel of Empire  54Brad Cox   $287,000
  8Raise Cain  54Ben Colebrook   $204,750
  9Tapit Trice  50Todd Pletcher   $210,000
10Jace's Road  45Brad Cox   $200,350
11Dura Erede  40Manabu Ikezoe   $774,897
12Major Dude  40Todd Pletcher   $401,595
13Rocket Can  40Bill Mott   $227,150
14Disarm  40Steve Asmussen   $200,000
15Sun Thunder  34Kenny McPeek   $132,250
16Red Route One  33Steve Asmussen   $398,375
17Instant Coffee  32Brad Cox   $385,065
18Continuar  30Yoshito Yahagi   $289,954
19Funtastic Again  30Wesley Ward   $150,116
20Classic Car Wash  26Mark Casse   $100,000
21General Banker  24James Ferraro     $84,000
22Perriere  20Yoichi Kuroiwa   $332,805
23Congruent  20Antonio Sano   $211,585
24Hit Show  20Brad Cox   $137,500
25Geaux Rocket Ride  20Richard Mandella     $80,000
26Slip Mahoney  20Brad Cox     $60,000
27Shopper's Revenge  20Steve Asmussen     $40,000
28Wadsworth  20Brad Cox     $34,000
29Classic Legacy  19Bill Mott     $45,000
30Curly Jack  17Tom Amoss   $348,120
31Blazing Sevens  16Chad Brown   $411,000
32Arctic Arrogance  16Linda Rice   $130,000
33Reincarnate  15Tim Yakteen   $149,500
34Skinner  15John Shirreffs     $84,500
35Cyclone Mischief  15Dale Romans     $44,525
36Verifying  14Brad Cox   $184,750
37Shadow Dragon  13Bill Mott     $60,020
38Victory Formation  10Brad Cox   $152,750
39Dubyhnell  10Danny Gargan   $137,500
 x-Go Soldier Go  10Fawzi Nass   $132,062
40Lugan Knight  10Michael McCarthy     $82,500
 x-Chase the Chaos  10Ed Moger Jr.     $81,000
41Tapit's Conquest  10Brad Cox     $26,000
42Mage  10Gustavo Delgado     $19,200
43Eyeing Clover  10Brad Cox     $18,000
44Prairie Hawk  10Saffie Joseph Jr.     $17,500
45Scoobie Quando    8Ben Colebrook   $105,200
46Denington    8Kenny McPeek     $43,110
 x-Groveland    8Eoin Harty     $40,000
 x-Bromley    8Paulo Lobo     $18,300
47Hayes Strike    7Kenny McPeek     $95,750
48Andiamo a Firenze    7Kelly Breen     $72,000
49Frosted Departure    6Kenny McPeek   $207,112
50West Coast Cowboy    6Saffie Joseph Jr.     $24,250
51Fort Bragg    5Tim Yakteen     $32,000
52Lord Miles    5Saffie Joseph Jr.     $27,100
53Bourbon Bash    5D. Wayne Lukas     $15,000
54Clear the Air    5Will Walden     $12,000
55Single Ruler    5Keith Desormeaux       $8,000
56Determinedly    3Mark Casse     $20,500
57Western Ghent    2D. Wayne Lukas     $35,110
58Il Miracolo    2Antonio Sano     $16,535
59Miranda Rights    2Mark Casse       $4,290
 x-Andthewinnneris    1Wayne Catalano   $248,363
60Champions Dream    1Danny Gargan     $20,000
 * Non-restricted stakes   
 x-Not an early Triple Crown nominee  

Top Stories

Having long since eclipsed legendary Charlie Whitt...
The Horseracing Integrity and Safety Administratio...
Unbeaten since transferred to turf three starts ba...
Red Route One posted a half-mile breeze in 50.85 s...
Echo Zulu , the champion 2-year-old filly of 2021...