Ky. Derby odds: 3rd Nevada casino joins futures market

Ky. Derby odds: 3rd Nevada casino joins futures market
Photo: Westgate Las Vegas

A third Las Vegas bookmaker has joined the futures market for Kentucky Derby 2023.

The Westgate SuperBook opened a win pool this month with 54 horses. Like Caesars Sportsbook and Circa Sports, it listed Eclipse Award-winning, Fountain of Youth (G2) winner Forte as its 3-1 favorite.

“We posted those March 12, the day they announced the (NCAA) brackets,” said Jay Kornegay, vice president in charge of the sportsbook. The Westgate typically gets into the futures market in the final weeks before Triple Crown races and the Breeders’ Cup Classic.

Compared with its two competitors, Westgate odds were at least the best for 16 of the horses it showed Tuesday night on its Derby list. They included San Felipe (G2) winner Practical Move at 16-1, Louisiana Derby (G2) morning-line favorite Instant Coffee at 18-1 and Rebel (G2) victor Confidence Game at 30-1.

In recent years Station Casinos also posted Derby futures the week of the race.

These were the Kentucky Derby 2023 futures Tuesday evening in Las Vegas at Caesars, Circa and Westgate, listed in order of best prices shown in bold type:

  Kentucky Derby 2023CaesarsCircaWG Trainer
Forte    3-1    3-1    3-1Todd Pletcher
Tapit Trice    8-1    6-1    6-1Todd Pletcher
Practical Move  12-1  14-1  16-1Tim Yakteen
Instant Coffee  14-1  16-1  18-1Brad Cox
Reincarnate  18-1  26-1  20-1Tim Yakteen
Confidence Game  22-1  30-1  30-1Keith Desormeaux
Red Route One  20-1  30-1  20-1Steve Asmussen
Hit Show  32-1  30-1  30-1Brad Cox
Kingsbarns  35-1  35-1  30-1Todd Pletcher
Awesome Strong  40-1  Jorge Delgado
Dreamlike   40-1 Todd Pletcher
National Treasure  15-1  30-1  40-1Tim Yakteen
Verifying  22-1  30-1  40-1Brad Cox
Cairo   45-1  40-1Aidan O'Brien
Henry Q  25-1  45-1 Todd Fincher
Rocket Can  40-1  48-1  30-1Bill Mott
Disarm  45-1  50-1  40-1Steve Asmussen
Geaux Rocket Ride  28-1  30-1  50-1Richard Mandella
Tapit's Conquest  50-1  45-1 Brad Cox
Blazing Sevens  35-1  55-1  40-1Chad Brown
Angel of Empire  40-1  65-1  40-1Brad Cox
Skinner  45-1  65-1  40-1John Shirreffs
Sun Thunder  55-1  70-1  50-1Kenny McPeek
Echo Again  75-1  Steve Asmussen
Raise Cain  40-1  75-1  50-1Ben Colebrook
Two Phil's  50-1  50-1  80-1Larry Rivelli
Victory Formation  50-1  80-1  40-1Brad Cox
Curly Jack  45-1  85-1  50-1Tom Amoss
Slip Mahoney  60-1  85-1  80-1Brad Cox
Classic Car Wash  85-1  90-1  50-1Mark Casse
Cyclone Mischief  60-1  90-1  50-1Dale Romans
Congruent  60-1  95-1  50-1Antonio Sano
Bishops Bay100-1  60-1 Brad Cox
Classic Legacy  60-1  80-1100-1Bill Mott
Corona Bolt100-1  Brad Cox
Gulfport100-1  Steve Asmussen
Mage100-1  90-1  60-1Gustavo Delgado
Mo Strike100-1  Brad Cox
Perrière 100-1  60-1Yoichi Kuroiwa
Scoobie Quando 100-1100-1Ben Colebrook
Cagliostro 110-1  60-1Cherie DeVaux
Jace's Road  65-1110-1100-1Brad Cox
Shopper's Revenge100-1110-1100-1Steve Asmussen
Fort Bragg100-1125-1100-1Tim Yakteen
Demolition Duke150-1  Brad Cox
Lugan Knight 150-1 Michael McCarthy
Maker's Candy 150-1 Mike Maker
Wildatlanticstorm150-1   60-1Ray Ashford
Bourbon Bash175-1  D. Wayne Lukas
Classic Catch125-1175-1 Todd Pletcher
Crupi100-1175-1 Todd Pletcher
Funtastic Again 175-1 Wesley Ward
Giant Mischief  60-1175-1  60-1Brad Cox
Hayes Strike 175-1 Kenny McPeek
Point Proven100-1175-1 Todd Pletcher
Powerful175-1  Steve Asmussen
Protégé175-1  Ron Moquett
Ah Jeez 200-1 Doug O'Neill
Airtime 200-1 Robertino Diodoro
Arabian Lion110-1200-1 Tim Yakteen
Baby Billy 200-1 Jack Sisterson
Banishing  50-1200-1 Brendan Walsh
Bo Cruz 200-1 Al Stall Jr.
Continuar 200-1 Yoshito Yahagi
Denington 110-1200-1Kenny McPeek
Derma Sotogake 200-1 Hidetaka Otonashi
Dubyuhnell100-1125-1200-1Danny Gargan
General Jim135-1200-1  80-1Shug McGaughey
Gun Pilot125-1200-1 Steve Asmussen
Kangaroo Court (g)125-1175-1200-1Tim Yakteen
Major Dude150-1175-1200-1Todd Pletcher
Mandarin Hero 200-1  80-1Terunobu Fujita
Tall Boy 200-1 Doug O'Neill
Tapit Shoes125-1200-1100-1Brad Cox
Two Eagles River150-1200-1  80-1Chris Hartman
Eyeing Clover 225-1200-1Brad Cox
Mendelssohns March 225-1 Kenny McPeek
Mr. Ripple110-1225-1200-1Saffie Joseph Jr.
Arthur's Ride125-1250-1 Bill Mott
Bluebirds Over 250-1 Saffie Joseph Jr.
Bromley150-1250-1200-1Paulo Lobo
General Banker150-1250-1200-1Jimmy Ferraro
Invulnerable 250-1 Joe Sharp
Prairie Hawk 250-1200-1Saffie Joseph Jr.
Shadow Dragon 250-1 Bill Mott
Uncle Jake 250-1 Brittany Russell
Escapologist 275-1 Kenny McPeek
Jungfrau150-1275-1 Bill Mott
Neural Network 275-1 Chad Brown
Arctic Arrogance150-1200-1300-1Linda Rice
Carmel Road 300-1200-1Tim Yakteen
Chase the Chaos (g)  300-1Ed Moger Jr.
Event Detail 300-1 Paulo Lobo
First Defender 300-1 Steve Asmussen
Fort Warren125-1250-1300-1Brittany Russell
Genius Jimmy 300-1 Michael McCarthy
Harlocap125-1300-1 Steve Asmussen
Lord Miles150-1300-1 Saffie Joseph Jr.
Recruiter 300-1 Cathal Lynch
Single Ruler 300-1 Keith Desormeaux
Uncorrelated 300-1 Chad Brown
Wadsworth (g) 300-1 Brad Cox
(g) gelding   

Top Stories

Having long since eclipsed legendary Charlie Whitt...
The Horseracing Integrity and Safety Administratio...
Unbeaten since transferred to turf three starts ba...
Red Route One posted a half-mile breeze in 50.85 s...
Echo Zulu , the champion 2-year-old filly of 2021...