Breeders’ Cup Winning Records

Breeders’ Cup Winning Records
Photo: Alex Evers/Eclipse Sportswire

Breeders' Cup 2016 is November 4th & 5th!

Breeders' Cup 2016
  » Breeders' Cup Classic 2016
» Breeders' Cup 2016 Contenders
» Breeders' Cup Winners
» Get FREE BC Picks!
» Get Trifecta/Superfecta Picks
» Play BC Day Contests
  Breeders' Cup 2016

The 2016 Breeders’ Cup World Championships once again brings together the best of the best. While some connections are seeking their first Breeders’ Cup win, others are looking to add to an extensive record.


Horse with the most wins: With three back-to-back victories in the Breeders’ Cup Mile, Goldikova is the only horse to win three Breeders’ Cup races. After winning two Grade 1 races in France in 2008, Goldikova made a trip to the U.S. and took her first of three Breeders’ Cup victories. She was awarded Eclipse Champion Grass Mare in 2009 and 2010.



Trainer with the most wins: Hall of Famer D. Wayne Lukas has won 20 Breeders’ Cup races from 164 starters. He is also the oldest winning trainer among Breeders’ Cup races. He won the 2014 Juvenile Fillies with Take Charge Brandi at the age of 79.


Jockey with the most wins: Mike Smith leads the charge with a total of 22 wins in 118 Breeders’ Cup races. He will try to add to his record this year with eight mounts (nine if an also-eligible draws in). Two of those rides will be on Songbird in the Breeders’ Cup Distaff and Arrogate in the Breeders’ Cup Classic. Smith was also the jockey of 2009 Classic winner Zenyatta.


Owner with the most wins: There is a tie for six Breeders’ Cup wins between Michael Tabor, Mrs. John Magnier, and Derrick Smith of Coolmore and Flaxman Holdings, Ltd. Among Coolmore’s 2016 entries is Found in the Breeders’ Cup Turf, who returns to defend her 2015 title. Flaxman Holdings won the 2014 edition of the Turf with champion Main Sequence. They also owned Miesque when she repeated in the 1988 Breeders’ Cup Mile.


Biggest winning margin: The biggest winning margin in Breeders’ Cup history came in the 1995 Distaff when Inside Information soared home to win by 13 ½ lengths over stablemate Heavenly Prize. Mike Smith was aboard for the win.



Post position with the most wins: Post 4 has seen 36 Breeders’ Cup winners break from it, and this year it was assigned to Breeders’ Cup Classic favorite, California Chrome. The four hole is the only post to reach more than 30 winners.


By Christine Oser

Top Stories

Palm Beach, Fla. He raced only three times last ye...
Hallandale Beach, Fla. It was not the first time B...
Although trainer Steve Asmussen has promising 3-ye...
Hallandale Beach, Fla. Winning is not everything....
The $200,000 listed Martha Washington Stakes is th...