Authentic, Monomoy Girl lead Eclipse Awards finalists

Authentic, Monomoy Girl lead Eclipse Awards finalists
Photo: Coady Photography

Led by Horse of the Year candidates Authentic, Improbable and Monomoy Girl, the National Thoroughbred Racing Association (NTRA), Daily Racing Form, and the National Turf Writers and Broadcasters (NTWAB) today announced the finalists for the 2020 Eclipse Awards, recognizing excellence in Thoroughbred racing.

Winners in 17 horse and human categories will be announced on TVG, and other outlets, during a virtual ceremony of the 50th annual Eclipse Awards, presented by Spendthrift Farm, on Thursday, Jan. 28 at 8 p.m. ET.

Of the 249 eligible voters represented by the NTRA, consisting of member racetrack racing officials and Equibase field personnel,  the NTWAB, and Daily Racing Form, 238 (95.58%) took part in the voting. Finalists were determined in each category by voters’ top three selections, using a 10-5-1 point basis. Eclipse Award winners are determined solely by first-place votes.

The 2020 Eclipse Awards finalists (in alphabetical order) are:

Horse of the Year
Authentic, Improbable, Monomoy Girl

Two-Year-Old Male
Essential Quality, Fire At Will, Jackie’s Warrior

Two-Year-Old Filly
Aunt Pearl (IRE), Dayoutoftheoffice, Vequist

Three-Year-Old Male
Authentic, Nadal, Tiz the Law

Three-Year-Old Filly
Gamine, Shedaresthedevil, Swiss Skydiver

Older Dirt Male
Improbable, Maximum Security, Vekoma

Older Dirt Female
Midnight Bisou, Monomoy Girl, Serengeti Empress

Male Sprinter
Vekoma, Volatile, Whitmore

Female Sprinter
Gamine, Glass Slippers (GB), Serengeti Empress

Male Turf Horse
Channel Maker, Order of Australia (IRE), Zulu Alpha 

Female Turf Horse
Audarya (FR), Rushing Fall, Tarnawa (IRE)

Steeplechase Horse
Moscato (GB), Rashaan (IRE), Snap Decision

Godolphin LLC; Klaravich Stables Inc.; Spendthrift Farm LLC, MyRaceHorse Stable, Madaket Stables LLC, and Starlight Racing 

Peter E. Blum Thoroughbreds LLC, Calumet Farm, WinStar Farm LLC

Steve Asmussen, Bob Baffert, Brad Cox

Irad Ortiz, Jr., Joel Rosario, John Velazquez

Apprentice Jockey
Luis Cardenas, Yarmarie Correa, Alexander Crispin

In addition to honoring the 17 winners in the horse and human categories, Thomas Goldsmith will receive the Eclipse Award as the 2020 Horseplayer of the Year. Members of the media will be honored for outstanding coverage in six categories.

Eclipse Awards voting is conducted by the National Turf Writers and Broadcasters (NTWAB), the National Thoroughbred Racing Association (NTRA), and Daily Racing Form. The Eclipse Awards ceremony is produced by the National Thoroughbred Racing Association.

The Eclipse Awards are named after the great 18th-century racehorse and foundation sire Eclipse, who began racing at age five and was undefeated in 18 starts, including eight walkovers. Eclipse sired the winners of 344 races, including three Epsom Derbies.

Top Stories

Golden Gate Fields was forced to delay the start o...
The Kentucky Derby trail dominates all forms of ra...
Hall of Fame Trainer Mark Casse watched one of the...
Promise Keeper makes his graded stakes debut and t...
There are no certainties in racing, but with only...