2021 Eclipse Awards: See the finalists in 16 categories

2021 Eclipse Awards: See the finalists in 16 categories
Photo: Carolyn Simancik / Eclipse Sportswire

The National Thoroughbred Racing Association, Daily Racing Form, and the National Turf Writers and Broadcasters announced the finalists Saturday for the 2021 Eclipse Awards, recognizing excellence in Thoroughbred racing. Winners in 17 horse and human categories will be announced on TVG, and other outlets, during the 51st annual Eclipse Awards, on Thursday, Feb. 10 at 8 p.m. EST. The evening will culminate with the announcement of the 2021 Horse of the Year.

Of the 245 eligible voters represented by the NTRA, consisting of member racetrack racing officials and Equibase field personnel, the NTWAB, and Daily Racing Form, 235 (95.9 percent) took part in the voting. Finalists were determined in each category by voters’ top three selections, using a 10-5-1 point basis. Eclipse Award winners are determined solely by first-place votes.

The 2021 Eclipse Awards finalists, with the exception of Horse of the Year, listed in alphabetical order are:

2-Year-Old Male: Corniche, Jack Christopher, Modern Games (IRE)

2-Year-Old Filly: Echo Zulu, Juju’s Map, Pizza Bianca

3-Year-Old Male: Essential Quality, Life Is Good, Medina Spirit

3-Year-Old Filly: Clairiere, Malathaat, Santa Barbara (IRE)

Older Dirt Male: Knicks Go, Maxfield, Mystic Guide

Older Dirt Female: Letruska, Marche Lorraine (JPN), Shedaresthedevil 

Male Sprinter: Aloha West, Flightline, Jackie’s Warrior

Female Sprinter: Bella Sofia, Ce Ce, Gamine

Male Turf Horse: Domestic Spending (GB), Space Blues (IRE), Yibir (GB)

Female Turf Horse: Loves Only You (JPN), Santa Barbara (IRE), War Like Goddess  

Steeplechase Horse: Baltimore Bucko (GB), Snap Decision, The Mean Queen (IRE)

Owner: Godolphin LLC, Juddmonte Farms Inc., Klaravich Stables Inc.

Breeder: Calumet Farm, Godolphin LLC, Stonestreet Thoroughbred Holdings LLC

Trainer: Steve Asmussen, Chad Brown, Brad Cox

Jockey: Irad Ortiz Jr., Flavien Prat, Joel Rosario

Apprentice Jockey: John Hiraldo, Charlie Marquez, Jessica Pyfer   

In addition to honoring the 17 winners in the horse and human categories, Justin Mustari will receive the Eclipse Award as the 2021 Horseplayer of the Year. Members of the media will be honored for outstanding coverage in six categories.

Eclipse Awards voting is conducted by the National Turf Writers and Broadcasters, the National Thoroughbred Racing Association, and Daily Racing Form. The Eclipse Awards ceremony is produced by the National Thoroughbred Racing Association.

Top Stories

Lexington, Ky. Even with court fights and a visit...
Stilleto Boy , winner of last month's Californian...
Siblings of famous horses do not present a good be...
Horse racing has an impossible dream. Knowing ther...
The comeback of trainer Peter Miller begins Sunday...