• Miss Sunset (3-1) grinds out the win over Chalon in the Grade 2 Raven Run Stakes.Posted 1 day ago
  • Bonus Points (3-1) swings wide and draws clear to win the Maryland Million Classic.Posted 1 day ago
  • La Coronel (5-1) leads them all the way in the Grade 1 Queen Elizabeth II Challenge Cup.Posted 8 days ago
  • Rubilinda (6-5) finds the wire just in time to take the Pebbles Stakes.Posted 8 days ago
  • Engage (1-2) rolls home from last to win the Grade 3 Futurity Stakes.Posted 8 days ago
  • Bolt d'Oro is the 12-1 favorite in the current Las Vegas line for Kentucky Derby 2018.Posted 11 days ago
  • Romantic Vision (6-1) takes the sloppy Spinster (G1) at Keeneland.Posted 14 days ago
  • Unique Bella (1-5) returns with a clear victory in the L. A. Woman (G3) at Santa Anita.Posted 14 days ago
  • Flameaway (5-1) wins a three-horse photo finish in the Dixiana Bourbon (G3) at a wet Keeneland.Posted 14 days ago
  • War Flag (9-1) wins the stretch battle in Belmont's Flower Bowl (G1).Posted 14 days ago
Breeders' Cup 2017

Horse of the Year

Eclipse Award trophyThe Horse of the Year Eclipse Award is presented to the top horse in America each January as determined by the NTRA, DRF and National Turf Writers and Broadcasters Association.  Here are all of the Horse of the Year winners since the Eclipse Awards were founded in 1971.






2015American PharoahBob BaffertZayat Stables
2014California ChromeArt ShermanPerry Martin & Steve Coburn
2013Wise DanCharles LoprestiMorton Fink
Charles Lopresti
Morton Fink
Larry Jones
Fox Hill Farm
John Sherriffs
Jerry & Ann Moss
Steve Asmussen
Stonestreet Stable
Steve Asmussen
Stonestreet Farm, et al
Steve Asmussen
Stonestreet Farm, et al
Kiaran McLaughlin
Shadwell Racing
Richard Dutrow
M/M William K. Warren, Jr.
Robert Frankel
Frank Stronach
Neil Howard
William Farish
Laura de Seroux
Michael Paulson
Bob Baffert
Thoroughbred Corp.
2000TiznowJay RobbinsM. Cooper & Cecilia Straub Rubens
1999CharismaticD. Wayne LukasBob & Beverly Lewis
1998Skip AwaySonny HineCarolyn Hine
1997Favorite TrickPatrick ByrneJoseph laCombe
1996CigarBill MottAllen Paulsen
1995CigarBill MottAllen Paulsen
1994Holy BullWarren A. "Jimmy" Croll, Jr.Warren A. "Jimmy" Croll Jr.
1993KotashaanRichard MandellaLa Presle Farm
1992A.P. IndyNeil DrysdaleTomonori Tsurumaki
1991Black Tie AffairErnie T. PoulosJeffrey Sullivan
1990Criminal TypeD. Wayne LukasCalumet Farm/Jurgen K. Arnemann
1989Sunday SilenceCharlie WhittinghamStone Farm
1988AlyshebaJack Van BergDorothy & Pamela Scharbauer
1987FerdinandCharlie WhittinghamElizabeth A. Keck
1986Lady's SecretD. Wayne LukasEugene Klein
1985Spend A BuckCam GambolatiHunter Farm
1984John HenryRon McAnallyDotsam Stable
1983All AlongPatrick BianconeDaniel Wildenstien
1982Conquistador CieloWoody StephensHenryk de Kwiatkowski
1981John HenryRon McAnallyDotsam Stable
1980Spectacular BidBud DelpHawksworth Farm
1979AffirmedLaz BarreraHarbor View Farm
1978AffirmedLaz BarreraHarbor View Farm
1977Seattle SlewWilliam H. Turner, Jr.Karen & Mickey Taylor
1976ForegoFrank Y. Whitely, Jr.Lazy F. Ranch
1975ForegoSherrill W. WardLazy F. Ranch
1974ForegoSherrill W. WardLazy F. Ranch
1973SecretariatLucien LaurinMeadow Stable
1972SecretariatLucien LaurinMeadow Stable
1971Ack AckCharlie WhittinghamBuddy Fogelson

Prior to the Eclipse Awards, Horse of the Year was determined by the staff of the DRF and the members of the Thoroughbred Racing Associations (TRA), who released their own lists of champions. At the turn of the century, various other racing clubs and turf associations would release their own year-end best-of lists. The following are Horse of the Year champions from the pre-Eclipse years.

1970Personality/ Fort Marcy1969Arts and Letters1968Dr. Fager
1967Damascus1966Buckpasser1965Moccasin/ Roman Brother
1961Kelso1960Kelso1959Sword Dancer
1958Round Table1957Bold Ruler/Dedicate1956Swaps
1955Nashua1954Native Dancer1953Tom Fool
1952Native Dancer/ One Count1951Counterpoint1950Hill Prince
1949Coaltown/ Capot1948Citation1947Armed
1946Assault1945Busher1944Twilight Tear
1943Count Fleet1942Whirlaway1941Whirlaway
1937War Admiral1936Granville1935Discovery
1931Twenty Grand1930Gallant Fox1929Blue Larkspur
1928Reigh Count1927Chance Play1926Crusader
1922Exterminator1921Grey Lag1920Man O'War
1919Sir Barton1918Johren1917Old Rosebud
1916Friar Rock1915Regret1914Roamer
1913Whisk Broom II1912The Manager1911Meridian
1910Fitz Herbert1909Fitz Herbert1908Colin
1895Henry of Navarre1894Henry of Navarre1893Domino
1889Salvator1888Emperor of Norfolk1887Hanover


YOU Rate The Champions on HRN - Top 250 Active Horses!