The Breeders’ Cup Mile A to Z

The Breeders’ Cup Mile A to Z
Photo: Don August

Learn more about the Breeders’ Cup Mile with this compilation of fun facts from the first 30 years of the race, delivered A to Z style ...


AArtie Schiller gave trainer Jimmy Jerkens his first Breeders’ Cup win with a 2005 Mile victory at Belmont Park.

BBarathea ended the Breeders’ Cup Mile streak of Lure when he easily won the 1994 edition, while the two-time winner came home ninth.


CCourt Vision holds the record for highest odds of any BC Mile winner, when he scored over 12 others at 64-1 in 2011.

DIn 1998, Da Hoss made “the greatest comeback since Lazarus”, while edging out Hawksley Hill to win the Mile. He also won in 1996.

E The Eclipse Award for Champion Turf Female was given to the BC Mile winner five times; Miesque and Goldikova twice each, and Royal Heroine in 1984.

FFreddy Head has won the Breeders’ Cup Mile five times; twice as a rider on Miesque, and three more times as the trainer of Goldikova.

G The Queen of the Mile is undoubtedly Goldikova, who won the prestigious event three times in a row from 2008 through 2010.

H Homebreds have won six of the last eight editions of the Mile; Goldikova (3), Wise Dan (2), and Miesque’s Approval.

I The partnership made famous by Big Brown, IEAH, came home first in the Mile with Kip Deville over the soft turf at Monmouth Park.


J Julio C. Canani trained the Mile winner twice over a three-year period with Silic in 1999 and Val Royal in 2001.

K In 2007, Kip Deville became only the second gray horse to win the Mile, joining the 1985 winner, Cozzene.

L Lure is one of four horses to win the Mile in back-to-back to editions, having scored powerful front running victories in 1992 & 1993

M Becoming the first horse to win twice at the Breeders’ Cup, Miesque powered home by four lengths in 1988 to go along with her 3 ½-length score the year before.

N War Chant became the sixth and most recent Breeders’ Cup victory for trainer Neil Drysdale, with his win in the 2000 Mile.

O Oliver Peslier is the only rider to win three times in the Mile, having been aboard Goldikova in each of her trio of victories.

P Jockey Pat Valenzuela has won six different Breeders’ Cup races at least once. His Mile victory came aboard the long shot winner of 1991, Opening Verse.

Q The Usual Q.T. ran big in 2010 to finish third at 22-1, behind only the pair of multi-year champions, Goldikova and Gio Ponti.

R Royal Heroine became the first of five females to score in the Mile, winning the inaugural edition in 1984.

S Seven-years-old is the age of the oldest Breeders’ Cup Mile winner, Miesque’s Approval in 2006.

TThierry Thulliez earned his only Breeders’ Cup victory in the 1995 Mile aboard Domedriver.

U Horses based in the USA have won 18 editions of the Breeders’ Cup Mile.

V Jockey John Velazquez holds the record for longest gap in between wins of 14 years, with victories aboard Da Hoss in 1998 and Wise Dan in 2012.

W Wise Dan ran the fastest BC Mile in history when he hit the wire in 1:31.78 for the first of his consecutive victories in 2012.

X John Oxx is best known as the conditioner of Sea The Stars, but he earned his only Breeders’ Cup victory in the 1995 Mile with Ridgewood Pearl.

Y Yves Saint-Martin became the first European jockey to win the Mile, when he booted home Last Tycoon to win at 35-1 in 1986.

Z Zilzal was bet down to even money in the 1989 edition, but could only manage a sixth place finish behind the second choice winner, Steinlen. 

Meet Brian Zipse

Brian has been a passionate fan of horse racing his entire life. Taken to the races at a very young age, he has been lucky enough to see all the greats in person from Secretariat, Forego, and Ruffian through Rachel Alexandra, Zenyatta, American Pharoah and Justify. Before coming to HRN, Brian displayed his love for the sport through the development of his horse racing website, which quickly became one of the most popular blogs in the game. His racing partnership venture, Derby Day Racing, invites more fans to experience the thrill of racehorse ownership.

The Editor of Horse Racing Nation from 2010-2017, Brian authored a daily column as Zipse at the Track, created the popular racing webcast HorseCenter, and added his editorial flare to the overall content of the website. Now a Senior Writer for HRN, Brian continues to contribute his thoughts on racing, as well as hosting HorseCenter. A big supporter of thoroughbred aftercare, he serves on the Board of The Exceller Fund.

Brian's work has also been published on several leading industry sites. He has consulted for leading contest site Derby Wars and is a Vox Populi committee member. He is a voter for racing's Hall of Fame, as well as a weekly NTRA poll voter. 

A horse owner and graduate of DePaul University, Brian lives just outside of Louisville with his wife Candice and daughter Kendra.

ZATT's Star of the Week
Mind Control

Top Stories

Tucson, Ariz. The Hatfields and the McCoys. The Sh...
It could be said that no news is good news at Chur...
In this biweekly series, racing analyst Keeler Joh...
The names at the top stayed the same, but weekend...
It is testament to Pierre Ng’s ambition and talent...