2014 Breeders’ Cup Turf from A to Z

2014 Breeders’ Cup Turf from A to Z
Photo: Don August

This A to Z compilation of Breeders’ Cup Turf facts will give you some history, trivia, and betting angles about the horses, owners, jockeys and trainers.

AAndre Fabre’s 23 starters are the most for any trainer in the Turf. He has won the race twice with In the Wings in 1990 and Shirocco in 2005.

BBetter Talk Now started in five consecutive runnings of the Turf from 2004 to 2008 with a record of 5: 1-1-0 and earnings of $1,793,000. In 2004 Better Talk Now gave trainer Graham Motion his first Breeders’ Cup victory.

CConduit is the leading money winner in the Turf with $3,240,000 coming from his two wins in 2008 and 2009.

D – In 2003 the Turf ended in a dead heat for the win between Johar and High Chaparral, who also won in 2002.

E – Twelve winners of the Turf went on to be given the Eclipse Award for Top Turf Male.

FFour is the most wins by a trainer or jockey in the Turf. Aidan O’Brien has victories in 2013, 2011, 2003, and 2002. Sir Michael Stoute won in 2009, 2008, 2000, and 1996. Frankie Dettori leads the jockeys with four wins in 2010, 2006, 2001, and 1999.

G – Only one German-bred horse has won a Breeders’ Cup race and that was in the 2005 Turf with Shirocco.

H High Chaparral sired Wrote, the winner of the 2011 BC Juvenile Turf.

Irish-bred horses account for 12 Turf victories from Theatrical in 1987 to Magician in 2013.

John’s Call in 2000 was the oldest starter ever in the Turf as a nine-year-old.

– In 2000 Kalanisi and in 1993 Kotashaan were victorious in the Turf.

L – The biggest long shot came in 1984 in the inaugural Turf when Lashkari won at odds of 53.40-1.

M – Trainers Richard Mandella, Bill Mott, Brian Meehan, and Graham Motion all got their first Breeders’ Cup victories in the Turf.

N – Only nine betting favorites have won the Turf.

– In 2011 the father/son combination of Aiden and Joseph O’ Brien won the Turf as the trainer and jockey of St. Nicholas Abbey.

P Pennsylvania-bred Tikkanen won the Turf in 1994 for Augustin Stables of George Strawbridge Jr.

Q Quest for Fame and Quiet Resolve both started in the Turf twice without a victory.

R Red Rocks, owned by J. Paul Reddam, won the Turf in 2006.

S Sadler’s Wells is the leading sire of Turf winners with four: High Chaparral twice, Northern Spur 1995, and In the Wings 1990.

T – Michael Tabor has won the Turf four times with three Irish-bred horses in 2002, 2003, 2011, and 2013.

– Horses based in the USA have won 13 times in the Turf.

V – Jockey Patrick Valenzuela won the Turf in 1992 with Fraise and John Velazquez took it in 2007 on English Channel.

– The largest win margin in the Turf came in 2007 when English Channel won by seven lengths.

X – In his only Breeders’ Cup mount ever, jockey Eric Legrix won the 1991 Turf aboard the filly Miss Alleged.

– The youngest jockey to ever win a Breeders’ Cup race was 18 year-old Joseph O’ Brien in the 2011 Turf.

Z – Trainer Maurice Zilber had the 11th place finisher, Treizieme, in the 1984 Turf.

Meet Matt Shifman

Matt Shifman has been on the Horse Racing Nation staff since 2011 and currently is a Senior Writer. Matt covers Aqueduct, Belmont Park, Monmouth Park, and Saratoga in his two HRN blogs, Racing at the Jersey Shore and New York State of Racing

Matt has been a co-host of the popular weekly video show HorseCenter for many years.

Since 2012, Matt has been a voter in the NTRA weekly polls for the Top Thoroughbred and Top Three-Year-Old.

Matt is also a partner in the New York Hot List handicapping service @NYHotList where he handicaps the races on the NYRA circuit everyday. The Hot List picks are available at several ADW sites around the country.

You may also know Matt by his Twitter, Facebook, and HRN screen nameAndyScoggin.

Top Stories

Hallandale Beach, Fla. Sometimes a change of scene...
Arabian Knight came into Saturday’s Grade 3, $750,...
Atone , given a ground-saving trip by jockey Irad...
As the rain began to pick up, the aptly named Wet...
Queen Goddess had never shown much of an affinity...