2013 Breeders’ Cup Distaff from A to Z

September 19, 2013 12:22pm
Zenyatta Ladies' 615 X 400
Photo: Eclipse Sportswire
Let’s start coverage of the 2013 Breeders' Cup Distaff with one of my favorites, the A to Z list.  It’s filled with interesting facts and figures about the Distaff, which was one of the seven original Breeders’ Cup races in 1984.
AThe Letter A has the most winners of the Distaff with Ashado (2004), Adoration (2003), Azeri (2002), and Ajina (1997).
- Bayakoa was a two-time winner (1989, 1990).
CControversy: When Life at Ten “lost contact” with the field in the 2010 Distaff at Churchill Downs it set off one of the most controversial situations in Breeders’ Cup history.
DD. Wayne Lukas has had the most starters in the Distaff with 27 and he won the race four times in 1985-1987 and 2000.
EEscena won the 1998 Distaff for Bill Mott, Gary Stevens, and Allen Paulson.
FFive-Time Winner: Mike Smith leads the jockeys with the most wins in the Distaff.
GGinger Punch (2007) was one of six Breeders’ Cup winners for trainer Bobby Frankel. Ginger Punch was his only victor in the Distaff.
Horse of the Year: Azeri (2002) and Lady's Secret (1986) are the only winners of the Distaff that were named Horse of the Year in the same year.
Inside Information: This Phipps/McGaughey runner holds two records from her 1995 victory – largest win margin in any Breeders’ Cup race (13½ lengths) and fastest time in the Distaff (1:46.15).
Jerry Bailey had the most mounts in the Distaff with 15, spanning the years 1991-2005. Surprisingly, he did not have a winner.
KKent Desormeaux won the 2010 Distaff with Unrivaled Belle.
LLong Shot: Spain (2000), at 55.90-1, is the biggest long shot in the history of the Distaff.
MTrainer Michael Matz has one Breeders’ Cup win from three starters and it was Round Pond in the 2006 Distaff.
Name Change: In 2008 the name of the Distaff was changed to the Ladies’ Classic and to the joy of most race fans was changed back to the Distaff in 2013.
OOklahoma-bred: The 1986 Distaff was won by Lady’s Secret, one of only two Oklahoma-bred horses to win a Breeders’ Cup race. The other was Kip Deville in the 2007 Mile.
Princess Rooney, the .70-1 favorite, won the inaugural running of the Distaff at Hollywood Park before a crowd of 64,254.
QA mile and a quarter: For the first four years the Distaff was run at the distance of 10 furlongs.
RRoyal Delta won the Distaff in 2011 and 2012 is looking to make it three in a row.
SStrawberry Road was the sire of two consecutive, yet different winners of the Distaff with Ajina (1997) and Escena (1998). Awesome Again did it with Round Pond (2006) and Ginger Punch (2007).
TTop Trainer: Bill Mott has won the Distaff five times including the last three in a row.
UUndefeated: Personal Ensign ended her career unbeaten when she got up in the last stride to win the 1988 Distaff by a nose.
VIs it Velasquez or Velazquez? No problem in the Distaff because both Cornelio Velasquez (Pleasant Home 2005) and John Velazquez (Ashado 2004) have a victory in the Distaff.
WWPS: The largest win, place, and show pool from the Distaff came at Churchill Downs in 2006 with $4,998,917.
XXX – 2013 will be the 30th running of the Distaff.
YYolanda B. Too finished 12th in the 2005 Distaff for trainer Rick Violette and West Point Thoroughbreds.
ZZenyatta is the only horse to win both the Distaff (2008) and the Classic (2009). 


comments powered by Disqus

Older Comments about 2013 Breeders’ Cup Distaff from A to Z...

Very cool info
The race which produced one of the most exciting finishes of all time in Personal Ensign v. Winning Colors - and one of the greatest tragedies in the breakdown of the great champion filly Go for Wand.
Yes, thank you!
Right on Ruffianzenyatta
"H" states that Azeri is the only horse to win the Breeders' Cup Distaff and be crowned Horse of the Year in the same year. But Lady's Secret won the Distaff in 1986 and was crowned Horse of the Year in the same year too, right?
This has always been one of my favorite races at the Breeders Cup. One winner that doesn't get the respect she deserves in my opinion is Dance Smartly, winner of the Canadian Triple Crown. She won races at both 1 1/4 miles and 1 1/2 miles and beat the best American fillies in the Distaff.
kay.robinett-- I thought about including Go for Wand.
A to Z, and Azeri and Zenyatta were greats, but my heart lies with the the P. A filly I fell for at two, and then watched win the first Distaff in stunning fashion. Princess Rooney Respect!
Yea, good point Ashley!
I always love the A-Z fun facts! If only Zenyatta had beaten Blame...then she could be listed under "U" also.

Related Pages

Meet Matt Shifman

Matt Shifman has been on the Horse Racing Nation staff since 2011 and currently serves as Assistant Editor. Matt covers Aqueduct, Belmont Park, Monmouth Park, and Saratoga in his two HRN blogs, Racing at the Jersey Shore and New York State of Racing.

Since 2012, Matt has been a voter in the NTRA weekly polls for the Top Thoroughbred and Top Three-Year-Old.

Recently, Matt helped launch Derby Day Racing, a new 2-year-old racing partnership, that just purchased a promising Lookin At Lucky filly named Sooner Schooner.

You may also know Matt by his Twitter, Facebook, and HRN screen nameAndyScoggin.

Best of the Blogs

Top Stories