Posted Thursday, June 06, 2019
Columnist Laura Pugh on beating the Belmont favorite and other expectations.
Posted Tuesday, June 04, 2019
That's what columnist Laura Pugh plans to do in the Belmont. Here's why.
Posted Thursday, May 02, 2019
Laura Pugh anticipates some Kentucky Derby weekend upsets.
Posted Wednesday, May 01, 2019
Laura Pugh runs down seven Derby contenders working best ahead of Saturday.
Posted Tuesday, April 30, 2019
Who made out best in the Derby post position draw? Laura Pugh talks all 20.
Posted Wednesday, April 24, 2019
Who's standing out in their Kentucky Derby breezes? Laure Pugh weighs in.
Posted Monday, April 15, 2019
HRN's Laura Pugh runs down the best (and worst) of last weekend.
Posted Monday, April 08, 2019
HRN's Laura Pugh runs down the best (and worst) of last weekend.
Posted Tuesday, March 26, 2019
HRN's Laura Pugh runs down the best (and worst) of last weekend.
Posted Tuesday, March 19, 2019
HRN's Laura Pugh believes kindly in what we saw in the split Rebel Stakes.
First
Prev
Page 1 of 27
Next
Last


Meet Laura Pugh

Laura Pugh got her first taste of Thoroughbred racing when she watched War Emblem take the Kentucky Derby and Preakness Stakes in 2002. At that point, she fell in love with the sport, reading every piece of news and information she could get her fingertips on.

Laura has a long history with horses in general, taking her first ride on her fifth birthday, with her first official riding lesson when she was eight years old. Both years she attended college, she joined her school’s equestrian team, first at Virginia Intermont College and then again at Delaware State University. Unfortunately, after back and shoulder injuries, she had to hang up her saddle. 

In 2010, Laura began writing for Horse Racing Nation and has also contributed to Lady and the Track, TwinSpires and USRacing. She currently works at a local newspaper as a community reporter.

Best of the Blogs

Top 10 Lists

Top Stories