Ticker
  • Holy Lute (10-1) pulls off the surprise in the second division of the Eddie D.Posted 10 hours ago
  • Ambitious Brew (5-1) rolls to victory in the first division of the Eddie D.Posted 12 hours ago
  • Texas Chrome (2-1) bravely squeezed through on the rail for an Oklahoma Derby win.Posted 5 days ago
  • Unbridled Mo (4-1) rides the rail to victory in the Remington Park Oaks.Posted 5 days ago
  • Accelerate (1-1) rallies to win the Los Alamitos Derby (G2).Posted 6 days ago
  • Connect (10-1) upsets the Pennsylvania Derby.Posted 6 days ago
  • Songbird (1-5) gets win number 11 in the Cotillion (G1) at Parx Racing.Posted 6 days ago
  • Noholdingback Bear (3-1) wins the Gallant Bob (G3) at Parx Racing.Posted 6 days ago
  • 2015 Turf Champion Big Blue Kitten has been retired from racing, via the Chad Brown barn.Posted 9 days ago
  • No catching Sarah Sis (10-1) in the Presque Isle Downs Masters.Posted 11 days ago

HORSE RACING PREVIEW

6/12/2014 9:59 PM
Author:
Amount Bet:
$6.00
Amount Cashed:
$0.00

 

 Hi all!

Welcome back to another edition of Horse Racing Preview!  This week's feature comes to us from good ol' Churchill Downs, and we're under the lights for this one!  Nightside!  Oh yeah, and of course you know I'm talking about the Stephen Foster Handicap.

This is Race 8, (approx. post 8:39 CST), set for a mile and an eighth on the dirt, is restricted to 3-year-olds and up, and carries a purse of $500,000! 

Let's take a look at the field:

 

Revolutionary  (KY)  2/1

Jaguar Paw  (KY)  30/1

Moonshine Mullin  (KY)  10/1

Will Take Charge  (KY)  5/2

Mylute  (KY)  12/1

Departing  (KY)  9/2

Golden Ticket  (KY)  8/1

Long River  (KY)  15/1

Prayer for Relief  (KY)  8/1

 

 Revolutionary certainly looks like the horse to beat in this one.  He closed from 9 down last time out in the Pimlico Special last month, and as we already know, deep closing is his gig!  Last time he was at Churchill was last year's Derby, where he closed from 18 down to run third, so with considerably fewer horses, Revolutionary should have a better trip in this one.  Mike Smith is aboard for trainer Todd Pletcher.

Nextie!  Departing is more of a stalker, the come from off the pace type, and he did that nicely last time out here at Churchill to win by almost two.  Now sure it was an AOC, but that was to get him back to form after his shady try time before that.  So he should be able to bounce back in stakes company in this one.

Lastie!  Moonshine Mullin is a little speedball; winning his last 4 starts by basically going gate-to-wire, including his last try, the Alysheba right here at Churchill.  He should lead the way throughout most, and should still be there to grab a piece of this purse.

 The JayCee Upset Special:  Long River


Well folks!  Maybe next year, huh?  Will be looking forward to seeing California Chrome run again in a few weeks.  BUT the show must go on!  So thank you so much for stopping!  Hurry it back next week!  And GOOD LUCK!

Come like me!

facebook.com/jayceeshorseracingpreview   

comments powered by Disqus

Older Comments about HORSE RACING PREVIEW...

jump in folks, it's wide open, oh no guts, well that's a problem.
How long you people going to harp on a MCL that was actually put up before the race while the snipers sat shot at the players. whata joke
That has not happened often.
Hmm, tunnel_vision .... did you actually READ my pick? I posted about him being my pick BEFORE THE RACE and notably wrote down my wager (across on Moonshine, ex box with t3, ex box with t4 both for $2) ... as Sword eloquently states, jealousy is a bitch. You can't even pick a winner with four contenders in six horse fields. SMH.
I know you had the Vanity trifecta, plus exactas and trifectas from Plays Of The Day every week. Plus, several regulars put their selections out there pre-race. Do they have the winner every time? No, but they usually say how they think the race will play out. Conversations start. Those reading can get new ideas, insight on contenders they may not have considered. Different way of looking at the races than my usual hoping my personal(often chalky) favorite wins.
also, listing contenders has little if nothing to do with the WAGER. NO ONE but NO ONE brings in what should be OBVIOUS: this is a gambling game. The odds board is the final arbritrator of a wager.
More accurate than anyone else by a big margin. You just do not get how this game is played. Tunnel vision, trying to find THE WINNER in each races is a GUARANTEED TICKET to the poor house.
And you didn't even get the contenders right much less pick a winner!! Same old, same old.
ou ALWAYS have it...............After the FACT
Thanks, rafi. Good to see you got on this one also. You're having a good year. Keep up the good work!!!!
Hey, congrats, Ruffian75. Class act and consistent winners. Moonshine was my pick, too (read my thread below). Well, not really. Was in my contenders, but those 10/1 odds were best .... laid out my top 4 contenders, and picked the one with great odds, improving figures and slow pace ... speaking of contenders ... TV, how on Earth was Moonshine not in your top 4? The guy was a lock to finish in the money. Prayer for Relief was underneath possibility only, really, I didn't think he had much of a chance. Long River? Had no chance. C'mon, man!
Which just goes to show you, that every once in a while, a blind squirrel finds an acorn. And, where are those Calvin Borel haters???? Not at the Cashier's window, that's for sure.
Contenders: #1, 2, 6, 8. The pick #6 Departing (9/2) loves to win off a lay off and has blazing works to prove it.
Like your picks, Ace. The one that strikes my fancy would be Moonshine Mullin. After starting his career 3-for-22, he's won 5 of his last 9, including four in a row. His best BRISNET speed rating is going this distance, when he ran runner-up to Stay Thirsty in the Jim Dandy Stakes at Saratoga two years ago, so, his front-running style might be able to stretch out to this distance. Anyhow, 10-1 is pretty nice for a horse that's won four in a row. Good luck to you.
I like Golden Ticket for the upset.
I like Golden Ticket for the upset.
contenders: 1 Revolutionary 9 Prayer for Relief 4 Will Take Charge 8 Long River 9 3 go out and then 4 1 8 come calling late