Ticker
  • Tapestry shocks Taghrooda in the Darley Yorkshire Oaks! Posted 1 day ago
  • Australia very impressive in the Juddmonte International! Posted 2 days ago
  • Postponed gallops away in the Great Voltigeur! Posted 2 days ago
  • Endless Chatter wins her third straight in the Summer Colony! Posted 3 days ago
  • Judy the Beauty rolls right on by in the Rancho Bernardo!Posted 4 days ago
  • Main Sequence surges late to win the Sword Dancer! Posted 4 days ago
  • Moulin De Mougin swoops up the rail to win the Mabee! Posted 11 days ago
  • Enterprising rolls from last in the La Jolla! Posted 12 days ago
  • Cassatt much the best in the Monmouth Oaks! Posted 12 days ago
  • Wallyanna upsets the Hall of Fame with a late rush! Posted 13 days ago

Shenanigans in the Japan Cup

The Japan Racing Association just cannot seem to get it right. When top European jockey Christophe Soumillion piloted the great Japanese filly Buena Vista to a seemingly easy victory in the 2010 edition of the Japan Cup, it appeared a decisive and popular decision in the nation’s biggest race. That feeling would not last, though, for after the race, a lengthy inquiry ensued. Eventually the review resulted in a disqualification of the impressive winner. It was determined that she had impeded the progress of Rose Kingdom, also of Japan, and ridden by Yutaka Take, as she was sweeping to the lead in the stretch.

 

To the credit of Rose Kingdom, he did come on strong to get up for 2nd on the wire, after checking briefly from the incident. This photo became important when the inquiry sign went up. More than 100,000 on-track fans would find just how crucial some 24 minutes later when the decision was finally announced. The $5.8 million dollar race had been reversed. Rose Kingdom was declared the Japan Cup winner and favored Buena Vista was placed 2nd.  

 

 
To be frank, the steward’s decision was poor. Did Buena Vista come over and impede Rose Kingdom to some extent? Absolutely, but was it enough to take down an easy winner of one of the biggest races in the world? Not by a long shot. She was much the best in the rich and prestigious Japan Cup. After 24 minutes the decision makers got it wrong. Taking Buena Vista down for her petty crime was nothing short of criminal.
 
Flash forward to yesterday’s running of the Japan Cup, where a terrific battle between the two best horses in the country should have been the perfect climax to the big race. It was not. As the Japanese filly Triple Crown winning, Gentildonna, dueled race favorite and 2011 Japanese Triple Crown winner, Orfevre, to the wire, the contest became a little more than just spirited. At the finish, it was Gentildonna by a nose over Orfevre, but the photo of the two horses at the wire only tells a small part of their battle… 
 
 
Not only was the unlucky Orfevre bumped hard twice by his foe, but he was knocked off stride, and actually went back to the wrong lead after the first bumping incident. It’s hard not to look at this infraction by Gentildonna and rider, Yasunari Iwata, who was suspended for the foul, and believe the nose decision should have been allowed to stand, but after another lengthy delay, the Japan Racing Association declared the original order official.
 
Gentildonna is a superbly talented three-year-old filly, and with the victory she became the first sophomore female ever to win the Cup, but the decision seem less than just. Simply stated, Orfevre deserved to win the race, just as Buena Vista did two years ago. Perhaps the four-year-old son of Stay Gold, and recent, narrow loser of the Prix de l'Arc de Triomphe, will find some retribution in next year’s Japan Cup, much like Buena Vista found last year, but he should not need to in order to be recognized as a Japan Cup champion. It is a shame the Japan Racing Association cannot get it right on the one day that the world is watching.

 

comments powered by Disqus

Older Comments about Shenanigans in the Japan Cup...

Mike is 1000% correct. Orfevre did not run a straight line and the Filly simply muscled her way through. But hey you all above complaining can just simply not watch the race then :)
All nonsense. If they felt Orfevre would beat Gentildonna they would run him in the Sheema Classic.
Have to agree with my namesake on his first point - Orfevre did not run a straight path and this probably contributed to the filly's non-DQ. I'm sure these two will face each again if they both continue to race next year. How about a rematch in Dubai??!!
I don't know the jocks, but Orfevre did not exactly run a straight path to the finish line either. He moved in toward the rail LONG before Gentildonna pushed him out. Then after the contact, continued to move towards the rail. Had there been NO CONTACT, it's of my opinion that Gentildonna wins the race by a larger margin.
I stopped watching the Japan Cup after 2010. Absolutely ridiculous call. What's even more absurd is that it took them so long to even make a call! You have to wonder what took them so long.....
That was a bad no call. Iwata made a hole when Orfevre was already there.
Absolutely 100% agree! Iwata even received a 2-day ban for interference/careless riding! The only thing I'll add, and I've commented ad nausem about this race and ruling, is that perhaps the fact that Sunday Racing owns both Orfevre and Gentildonna, made easier to leave the order stand? Orfevre, by inital announcements from Ikee, will be back next year. So who knows, he may run the JC in 2013. One thing is clear, the JRA stewards have no credibility in my book. I do want to state that I believe Gentildonna is a hands down incredibly talented filly.

Related Pages

Related Stories

Top Stories