Ticker
  • There will be a Pick Six carryover of $42,460 when racing resumes Thursday at Los Alamitos.Posted 13 hours ago
  •  Assateague goes wire to wire in the Dr. James Penny Memorial!Posted 1 day ago
  •  Assateague goes wire to wire in the Dr. James Penny Memorial!Posted 1 day ago
  • Clearly Now breaks the 7f track record at Belmont - 1:19.96.Posted 4 days ago
  • There will be a Pick Six carryover of $28,880 when racing resumes July 4 at Los Al.Posted 5 days ago
  • 1-9 Frac Daddy upset by Sky Captain in the Dominion Day! Posted 8 days ago
  •  Size holds off Ria Antonia in the Iowa Oaks!Posted 11 days ago
  •  Declassify game in the Triple Bend!Posted 11 days ago
  •  Riposte proves best in the New York Handicap!Posted 11 days ago
  •  Work All Week holds off Delaunay in the Iowa Sprint!Posted 12 days ago
Book Review Silks Breed, Own & Train horses like
Book Review
in DerbyVille!

Book Review

Status:
Retired
Owner(s):
Trainer:
Bred:
Rating:
 

What the Nation is saying about Book Review...

Book Review will be covered by Medaglia D'Oro in 2014, so I am presuming that she has been retired
What do you think?What a bitterly disappointing performance. I thought she was ready to strut her stuff and she doesn't show up. Sooooooooo shocked still.
  • shackleford · Horses more than 2-3 lengths off the lead had no shot in the sprint races, same goes for Justin Phillip. Disappointing, but understandable. · 248 days ago ·
    like
Kathy Ritvo (Mucho Macho Man, 1st, Classic) – After saddling Mucho Macho Man for a thrilling victory by a nose over a late-charging Will Take Charge in Saturday’s $5 million Breeders’ Cup Classic at Santa Anita, trainer Kathy Ritvo can finally face the disappointment of his close second-place finish...Read More
Aidan O'Brien (Cristoforo Colombo, Turf Sprint) – see European report Bob Baffert (Book Review, Filly & Mare Sprint; Secret Circle, Sprint) – The trainer’s sprinters – the colt Secret Circle and the filly Book Review – both were trackside Thursday morning for good gallops heading into their assignme...Read More
Buff Bradley (Groupie Doll, Filly & Mare Sprint) – Fred Bradley, trainer Buff Bradley, Carl Hurst and Brent Burns’ defending Filly & Mare Sprint champion Groupie Doll visited the paddock, jogged 6f and galloped 1 1/4m under exercise rider Jada Schlenk Wednesday morning. Read More
Aidan O'Brien (Cristoforo Colombo, Turf Sprint) – see European report Bob Baffert (Book Review, Filly & Mare Sprint; Secret Circle, Sprint) – Trainer Bob Baffert Tuesday morning said the heat was on with his Sprint entrant Secret Circle, a quick 4yo whose career has shown flashes of brilliance – whe...Read More
Kiaran McLaughlin – Trainer Kiaran McLaughlin reported that both Dancing House and Sky Painter will run in the Juvenile Fillies Turf on Friday. Dancing House had been pre-entered in the Juvenile Fillies as well. Read More
The long awaited return of My Miss Aurelia is set to happen this Thursday at Belmont Park, after seven months away from the races. Read More
Wouldn't it be nice to see Reneesgotzip take on such stalwarts as Groupie Doll, Book Review, Judy the Beauty, Sweet Lulu and Dance to Bristol?Read More
  • Show All 15 Comments
  • buds · Brian, nice work! · 267 days ago ·
    like
  • yargs · Flawed logic here on the chart that supposedly shows a bias. Absolutely none of those 5 horses were legitimate contenders in that race. Teddy's promise was 50-1 last year, Golden mystery 15-1, GGGal 8-1 with dubai majesty sitting a nice stalking spot behind the 2 speed horses....the problem isn't the distance, it's the class and inability of less quality animals trying to steal a race that is usually loaded with speed. · 260 days ago ·
    like
I begin my 6 1/2 week coverage of the Breeders’ Cup Filly & Mare Sprint with a quick rundown of the fillies and mares I like best to make it to the winner's circle at Santa Anita ...Read More
  • Show All 17 Comments
  • Floridaf · Sounds as though My Happy Face won't be going to the F&M Sprint after all. · 282 days ago ·
    like
  • tmallios1 · Does anyone know if any top distance filly or mare ,might point to the sprint. Take advantage of the potential early speed scenerio. · 282 days ago ·
    like
Those slow fractions killed her closing kick but I'll take the 2nd!
  • Show All 3 Comments
  • Floridaf · I'd say average rather than slow, but I'd say she closed nicely. She only missed the win by a head. · 318 days ago ·
    like
  • jmac500 · She runs better at 23.00 or less in the first quarter · 318 days ago ·
    like
Dance to Bristol earned her seventh straight victory and first in a Grade 1, holding off a late charge from Book Review to win the $500,000 Ballerina by a hard-fought head at The Spa.Read More
She's going to tip toe to the winners circle in the Ballerina ;)
Saturday's Grade II A Gleam field includes three Grade I winners – Teddy’s Promise, Byrama and Book Review.Read More
Come on Book Review! Make my 50.00 into a good amount of money. Oh and my 10.00 ezacta 5-7/5-7 which costs 60.00.
  • Show All 7 Comments
  • Sully · Nice score jmac. hope we see her in the BC F&M sprint. she loves the distance. i used her but thought she would b coming from too far out of it. it didn't matter. · 361 days ago ·
    like
  • jmac500 · I hope so to because the speed will help her. · 361 days ago ·
    like
Book Review continued her love affair with seven furlongs, rallying past 13-10 favorite Teddy’s Promise in the final sixteenth of a mile to win the Grade II, $200,000 A Gleam Handicap. Read More
A winner of the Grade I La Brea Stakes going seven furlongs on Dec. 26, Book Review was then a sharp second in the Grade II La Canada Stakes going a mile and a sixteenth on Jan. 20, and she’ll try that distance again on Saturday as she heads a six-horse field in Santa Anita’s featured Grade II, $200...Read More
  • Show All 10 Comments
  • jinlie01 · Hi Mary..sure did..also got the exacta in the El Camino with Dice Flavor and Nina's Dragon. About time I got some nice payoffs. · 507 days ago ·
    like
  • Mary Z. · Continued good luck and good picking to you, jinlie. · 507 days ago ·
    like
I guess when you are a jockey with a name like Gary Stevens you better be good, and it looks like we have another good one. Did you see today’s Grade 2 Santa Maria? I mean for a new rider, it was simply masterful. This kid was on one of the race’s long shots, a mare named Great Hot, and it was like ...Read More
Looked good in a tough fought 2nd place finish.

Book Review - Race Results & Past Performances

Date(Descending)
Horse
Fin
Tr
#
Dist.
Sf.
Race
$
Cnd
1st
2nd
3rd
Time
View DetailsView Video11/02/13Book Review9thSA67 fDBreeders' Cup Filly and Mare Sprint-G1 3+ FGroupie DollJudy The BeautyDance Card1:20.75
View DetailsView Video08/23/13Book Review2ndSar97 fDBallerina-G1 3+ FDance to BristolBook ReviewVillanesca1:23.11
View DetailsView Video07/13/13Book Review1stHP87 fSA Gleam-G2 3+ FBook ReviewTeddy's PromiseByrama1:22.75
View Details02/16/13Book Review2ndSA41 1/16 mDSanta Maria-G2 4+ FGreat HotBook ReviewLady of Fifty1:43.08
View Details01/20/13Book Review2ndSA71 1/16 mDLa Canada-G2 4 FMore ChocolateBook ReviewWilla B Awesome1:42.59
View Details12/26/12Book Review1stSA47 fDLa Brea-G1 3 FBook ReviewReneesgotzipMy Miss Aurelia1:22.41
View DetailsView Video11/24/12Book Review5thAqu91 1/8 mDGazelle Handicap-G1 3 FDance CardSea IslandMy Wandy's Girl1:50.39
View Details10/24/12Book Review1stBel31 1/16 mDImperial Gesture S. 3 FBook ReviewLady CohibaFinal Escrow1:42.98
View Details09/22/12Book Review1stCT107 fDCharles Town Oaks 3 FBook ReviewHoliday SoireeBeautiful But Blue1:24.65
View DetailsView Video08/25/12Book Review7thSar107 fDTest-G1 3 FContestedGypsy RobinBeautiful But Blue1:22.47
View Details07/20/12Book Review1stSar47 fDAllow 3 FBook ReviewUllapoolE Z Passer1:22.85
View Details06/24/12Book Review2ndBel11 mileDAlwOC 3+ FQuestingBook ReviewBaffle Me1:34.14
View Details05/20/12Book Review1stBel67 fDMSW 3+ FBook ReviewDance CardRoyal Rhiannon1:23.05
View Details01/06/12Book Review3rdGP46 fDMSW 3 FThe Last MeowCloudwatcherBook Review1:09.82
View DetailsView Video08/14/11Book Review2ndSar76 fDMSW 2 FStopshoppingmariaBook ReviewDelightful Magic1:09.87